If I had to mention a policy in China which I didn’t like the most, that would be ‘one child policy’. It’s great to know it has been changed, since 2015 they switched to 2 child policy instead, and today finally they allow to have the third child for one family, even it is kind of late, but still ‘better late than never’.

One child policy started from 1979, the same year when my younger sister came to the world, so I am pretty lucky I could have a sister. After 1979 in the cities, most kids would be the only child in their family, because that time China didn’t really open up for ‘capitalism economy’, most of people had to work for government or government companies, if they broke the law to have the second child, they would lose their job and their supervisor may have to lose their job as well. I understand why Chinese government had such policy by that time, for a huge populated country like China, it would be hard to make any policy or no policy regarding demography, tiny percentage of population growth would be tens of millions more people.

However this ‘One Child policy’ maintained until 2015, when China lifted it up and allowed to have second child in Oct. Even for me, a person has no background with demography as all, after I read a book <Demography cliff> by Harry S. Dent in 2014, I could see the future crisis about the population in China. I don’t know how those professional advisers who worked in those area would not be able to change the policy: Demography should be the most predictable information by mathematic model, which will lead labors, production, consuming, economic growth and basic of almost everything.

I had my first child in 2009 with my wife, because that was her second child therefor we couldn’t receive ‘Birth permission’, according the birth control person she “should not get pregnant again before 30 years old’, that time my wife was 25. So basically my first son was born in ‘Illegally’ even he was my first child, we had to go to private hospital and 4 years later we had to pay for a big fine in order to give him the residence, otherwise he would be out of the system and would not be received by public kindergarten nor school.

Later after we moved to Xiamen, my wife got pregnant again and our second boy was born in California in 2012. That time it was a big decision, because I had to quite my job in Xiamen and came to LA to care of them for months, when we got back to China I had my 2 sons without a job, and none of us knew with Richard’s foreign passport, what kind of challenges we would have to face in the future, like school, like public heath care, like…But in my opinion, I love kids, and kids need time to grow, this is ‘Socially necessary labor time’, nobody could reduce the labor time nor increase the efficiency, therefor, whatever the problems we may face could be figured out in the future, but having my kids to the world is the priority of anything. That’s what I believe, that’s what I did.

Second day of 2018, we received our best gift–Elizabeth. Even before she was born to the world, she had already arranged many things for ours family: My company started getting more business in second half of 2017, and more important, because that time 2 boys were in LA with us, Richard turned to 5 in June and could just be received by Kindergarten in Aug, we would probably not to think about letting kids to study in the US without that opportunity. After I sent Tony Jr. back to China when his summer holiday finished, Richard could study in Rowland elementary till Feb of 2018. That was just like a experiment, but during that time I could join in many school activities, with teachers, principle and local education bureau, I was elected as ‘President of family association’ and represent Rowland elementary family to have meeting in local education bureau, it was so sad for both me and Richard when we had to leave in Feb. Richard’s teach Miss Dizon was absolutely the best teacher I have ever seen, and John Martinez was nicest principle I could ever image. I could see how much Richard has learned from school, even it is just 4 points out of 10 public school (I have no idea how the scores were given). And one year later when we came back to LA, Richard could go to the second grade and that was Miss Dizon’s class! That was the most excited news for Richard and me.

Today when this ‘3 Children policy’ news was flooding the Chinese social media, many of my friends said I was ‘Completed the mission in advance’ like a visionary. Having 3 kids in China is not normal and is truly blessed, It does need lots of work but comparing the happiness they are bring to us, that was nothing. People may have very different view or purpose of life, for me raising kids is the most amazing work we could do in ours life, in my personal opinion.